New Year, New Antibiotics, New Goals

HAPPY 2014!!

It’s officially 2014. This year is going to rock! 2013 taught me a lot and I intend on using what I learned to make sure that this year is a great one. I’ve got a few updates for you all!

LLMD Appointment:

I saw my LLMD last week. He put me back on antibiotics! I’m really happy about this because my tinnitus, my headaches, and my hair loss are driving me nuts. These symptoms usually go away when I’m on antibiotics so I’m looking forward to this change.

I’m now on Rifampin and Bactrim. Funny thing about Rifampin. It turns my pee orangish red! Even though the pharmacist warned me about this, I was still shocked. Something I’ll just have to get used to, I guess. The warning label also mentions that it will permanently stain my contacts. I’ve been wearing my contacts every day and I haven’t experienced any staining yet. Let’s hope it stays that way! The Bactrim is okay so far. My main side effect is that I’ve been getting muscle soreness in my arms occasionally.

I’m just waiting for the herx. The past 3 times I’ve been on antibiotics, I’ve gotten a awful, awful herx about two weeks after I start taking them. I start school on Monday and I’m really hoping that I can somehow avoid the herx. Detox galore! I’m also loading up on my favorite probiotics, VSL, which I talk about here.

I am staying on my two herbals, AL Complex and MC BAR 1. I’m hitting this Bartonella from all sorts of angles. I’ve got this!

2014 Goals and Resolutions:

Okay, my 2014 resolution. I think it’s pretty great. Ready? Drumroll…. I’m going to buy myself flowers at least once a month! I know this seems like a simple thing, but I think it’s going to be good for me. In 2013, I had several moments where I was not kind to myself. I’ve realized that I need to spend more time treating myself to something. I do a lot of hard work and I should do something to thank myself! The flowers are a way for me to pause and realize that I am doing good things. So here’s to twelve whole months of beautiful flowers. Thank you to my cousin Heather over at SF Golden Girl  for the idea!

As for health and Lyme related 2014 goals, I would really like to get better at remembering to take all of my pills, powders, herbs, and drops. I have a pretty effectively organized pill box, but not all of my protocol fits in the box. I have to remember my AL Complex drops, my MC BAR 1 drops, my magnesium powder, my probiotic, and my boric acid suppository.  That’s a lot to remember! So I’ve decided to set a bunch of alarms on my phone to remind myself to take my various meds. How can I expect to make progress in my treatment if I’m still struggling to remember to take everything. This will be a challenge for me and I’m looking forward to improving.

What are YOUR resolutions?

Best,

Sofia

Leave a Reply

