Getting Settled In: Back to School

I moved this week! After spending a very relaxing summer with my parents in Sacramento, CA, I headed back to Eugene, OR to start my junior year at the University of Oregon.

My new place is just great. It’s a cross between an apartment and a dorm. I have a studio apartment, but I also have a meal plan. So there’s a kitchen downstairs with chefs that makes all the residents their meals, while my apartment is upstairs. It’s across the street from school, which is really convenient. Since I don’t have enough energy to cook and clean for myself, this set-up is absolutely perfect!

My room is a little small, but I decorated it with some cute things that make it a lot cozier. Plus, I don’t have any roommates! I love this! I don’t have to worry about uninvited guests or somebody who doesn’t understand my situation. I get this space all to myself. Also, I never have to shut the door when I go pee. This is fantastic!

My herx station. Comfy recliner, a squishy pillow, a soft blanket, and a cup of tea. Perfect space for a bad day.

My herx area. Comfy recliner, a squishy pillow, a soft blanket, and a cup of tea. Perfect space for a bad day.

I personally spoke to the chef downstairs about my diet. I was worried the kitchen wouldn’t be able to handle somebody who is sugar free, gluten free, and limits starches- among other limitations. I know it can be confusing. The chef was very kind and said she’s more than willing to accommodate my diet. Tonight for dinner, I had brown and wild rice, grilled chicken, cooked peas, and salad. Great meal!

School starts up again tomorrow. I’m signed up for some interesting classes and I’m looking forward to an interesting quarter. I think this apartment will be a key part of my success!

Best,

Sofia

One thought on “Getting Settled In: Back to School

Leave a Reply

