Pill Mountain

Welcome to Sofia’s Pharmacy!

Every once in a while, I like to document how many pills I’ve taken since the start of my health problems. In 2011, before I was even diagnosed, I started keeping all my empty pill bottles. Every time I fill up my weekly pill box, I seem to run out of something I take. That empty bottle goes into a box I keep in my room. This is the result of that box, all neatly organized.

A visual representation of my treatment thus far. These are all the pills I've taken from late 2011-June 2013.

A visual representation of my treatment thus far. These are all the pills I’ve taken from late 2011-June 2013. I couldn’t even get all of them in the picture! 

This is my mini pharmacy. I’ve got everything from empty Penicillin syringes to half-finished oral antibiotics to homeopathic remedies. Basically, if I took it or used it for a health-related reason, it’s here. Some bottles are empty and some are half full.

Here’s a quick scan of everything that’s in this picture, starting from the very back and working my way forward.

  • Lyme Literature
  • Herx and anxiety supplements
  • Pain killer, oral antibiotics and anti-fungal prescriptions
  • Symptom management supplements
  • Vitamins
  • Probiotics and detoxing supplements
  • Rare symptom management supplements, including topical creams
  • Liquid and granulated Stevia
  • Herbal liquid antibiotics
  • Bicillin L-A syringes
  • Pill organizer, eye droppers, liquid medicine measuring cups, and pill cutter

Yep, that’s my collection. Actually, that’s not even all of them. I took this picture in June and my collection has definitely grown since then.

You know, I really wouldn’t have nearly as many pills as I do if I was just tested for Lyme in the very beginning when my symptoms started. But that’s a rant for another day.

I’m planning on creating some sort of art project out of all of them after I’m done with treatment. I’m thinking a giant tick would be interesting. That’s one positive reason to keep my collection growing!

Gotta keep climbing this pill mountain.

Best,

Sofia

3 thoughts on “Pill Mountain

  1. My roommate hates me because my bottles are ALL over our kitchen. I have a full cupboard in our kitchen devoted solely to all my bottles! So many half full bottles and other random medications/supplements and I just keep adding to it, too 🙂

  2. I can relate to your pill mountain. I love the picture but hate that you are having to be the guinea pig with these things. I gave my bottles (emptied of the miracle pill that didn’t perform) to the kids I work with to make their own art out of!

Leave a Reply

