Fun with Smoothies!

Smoothie

I love smoothies! I used to buy them, but the ones from smoothie bars have a lot of added sugar in them. A naturopath I went to for a while suggested I start making nightly smoothies as a way to get more energy and nutrients without eating a full meal. At first I was skeptical, but I’m so glad she gave me this recipe, because I love love love these! They’re light, frothy, healthy, and surprisingly do not taste disgusting! I know the color is kind of yucky, but trust me, they taste good!! Plus! No added sugar! Just natural sweetness from a small amount of fruit. Yummmmmm. 

Ingredients!

  • 2 Cups coconut milk 
  • 3 or 4 ice cubes 
  • 1 Scoop Whey protein powder (The brand I have is BioGenesis, Ultra Pure Vanilla flavored)
  • 1 TBS of greens powder (The brand I have is Vitamineral Green) 
  • 1 TBS coconut oil 
  • 1/2 Cup berry of your choice (I used raspberries) 
  • 1/2 Apple, cut into chunks
  • A handful or two of kale or spinach

Coconut milk and kale! Yay!

Coconut milk and kale! Yay!

Greens Powder, Whey Powder, and Coconut Oil I use

Greens Powder, Whey Powder, and Coconut Oil I use

 

 

Preparation! 

It’s really super easy! Takes about 2 minutes. 

If you use raspberries like I did, make sure you put one on your finger and wear it like a hat. This is 100% necessary if your smoothie is to taste any good

If you use raspberries like I did, make sure you put one on your finger and wear it like a hat. This is 100% necessary if you want your smoothie to taste any good

  1.  Pour your coconut milk into a blender
  2. Add the protein powder, greens powder, coconut oil, and ice cubes 
  3. Add your kale, apples, and berries 
  4. Blend!! 

 

Looks a bit gross, right? Trust me, it's really really not

Looks a bit gross, right? Trust me, it’s really really not

 

See? I told you! Not gross. Really good and smooth. Yum!!!

See? I told you! Not gross. Really good and smooth. Yum!!!

The best part about these is that they’re actually pretty helpful. All the ingredients are super foods and are very beneficial to eat. Blend them all together and you get something pretty tasty. Whenever I make one, I wake up the next day feeling full of energy. 

Hope you like them too! 

Best,

Sofia 

2 thoughts on “Fun with Smoothies!

  1. Hi Sofia,

    I finally met you a couple of weeks ago at the Lyme support group after hearing so much about you from your mom. 🙂

    My doc has her patients make a smoothie every morning for breakfast or lunch. Lunch is good because it gives you a couple of hours between antibiotics and the probiotics in it. I’ve been to sick to make these or drink these most of the time but just started making them again about a week ago. I’ve noticed a huge difference in energy and less GI symptoms too. So thought I would share the recipe I’ve been making in case you ever want to change it up a little.. And yes it looks disgusting too lol but tastes good enough to get down which is a feat in itself when you are nauseated all the time.

    I’ve been making this recipe but usually double it. That way it makes two full glasses and I just put one in the fridge for the next day so I don’t have to go through pulling it all out, putting it away and cleaning up of the Ninja every single day 🙂 ( I try to use everything ORGANIC whenever possible)

    MIRACLE SMOOTHIE ( power packed with nutrition plus it tastes great!)

    1 cup unpasteurized orange juice or coconut milk or water, or any kind of juice or milk will work
    (I’ve been using half liquid, half organic vanilla yogurt)

    1 organic banana

    1 scoop of GREEN VIBRANCE (amazing stuff that has probiotics and much more in it, google it)

    1 tsp Spirulina powder (super food)

    2 Tbsp of GLUTAMINE POWDER (unflavored)

    1-3 Tsp Peter Gilhams’s Natural Calm Magnesium + Calcium powder (the flavorless kind) start with 1 tsp and work up

    1 1/2 Tbsp cold pressed Organic Coconut Oil

    1 large leaf of Kale ( you can’t taste this)

    10 gms of Creatine Powder (unflavored)

    1 Tbsp Whey protein powder ( unflavored) most have gluten in them so if you are gluten free make sure you get a brand without it

    1-2 cups of frozen or fresh organic strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and/ or blueberries
    (Costco has a big bag of mixed berries or straight blueberries that is perfect for this usually $10)
    Add a little more liquid if its too thick. Its best to mix the liquids with all the powders first so they are all mixed in really well. Then add the fruit last.

    Once you have all the ingredients in the house (which most can be ordered online) its a breeze to make also!

    Thanks for sharing through your blog. Its good to know we are not alone in this!

    Laura

    PS

    I bought some VSL#3 pills at Costco the other day and they were only $46.09. Cheapest I found online that was shipped correctly (kept cold enough) was $52 a bottle plus shipping.
    2 pills a day = 225 billion probiotics the same amount as the VSL Junior packets I think? I cant wait to try these myself and I’m also going to have my girls try them too. I hope we get awesome results like you have. Thanks for the info on these! 🙂

    • Laura,
      Thanks so much for visiting! The recipe you posted looks like it’d be really tasty too! Also, I’m glad you were able to find the probiotics at Costco. They’ve worked so well for me!
      Hope you and your daughters are well,
      Sofia
      🙂

Leave a Reply

