My Mantra

A few months ago, Robert Fogarty of Dear World came to my university for a open photo shoot. Robert asks us the question If you were to share one meaningful message with your family, friends, and strangers, what would it be? This portrait is the result of his question. 

"You're stronger than you think."

“You’re stronger than you think.”

You’re stronger than you think. If having a disease like Lyme has taught me anything, it’s that I am stronger than I think I am. I’ve faced an innumerable amount of hardship from this disease, yet here I am, stronger than ever. I chose this message because as we face the struggles that life brings, we often forget our strength. Strength can be pleasantly surprising.

Whenever I am having a particularly bad day or I find myself in a rough patch, I think of this sentence. It becomes a warm, gentle nudge that reminds me of all that I’m capable of. I am always pleasantly surprised.

Best,

Sofia

One thought on “My Mantra

  1. Hi Sophia,

    It will be nice to stay in touch with you through your blog. I have a necklace that says, “You’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think.” A quote by Christopher Robin from Winnie the Pooh. My dear friend got it for me as a gift. I often wear it to remember who I was before I got sick and where I am headed. It’s comforting in many ways. Your post reminded me of my necklace.

    Hope your last days at home are full of joy and good health.
    Ginny

Leave a Reply

